Q&A With Brooke Davis, Barkley Reserve’s HR Administrator

Brooke Davis is a twenty-five-year-old leader in the industry, taking steps towards a six-figure career and inching her way towards those “thirty under thirty” lists. Here at Barkley Reserve, Davis works to build an incredible team teach day as our Human Resources Administrator. All of that said, she would be the first to tell you that this success came out of left field. We sat down with Brooke to discuss that and more, and we are thrilled to introduce her to the world. World, meet Brooke Davis, business’s next big thing.

Was business always the goal?

“If you would have asked me ten years ago what my career would be, I would have never guessed it would be what I am doing today. In college, I studied communication and learned that I enjoyed providing opportunity, working with others and solving problems. That was when I realized HR and Recruiting would be a good fit for my talents and interests. If I’m honest, my dream job as a kid was to be a runway model. Let’s just say, I’m happier this way.”

Tell us more about that college experience.

“Right after high school, I attended the University of South Carolina – Aiken. As a student, I also maintained a job at Publix, was involved and held positions in a sorority, studied abroad in France, and more. My college experience taught me a lot and really shaped me into who I am today. I learned my strong suits and what I struggle with. I learned how important effective communication is. I learned it’s important to surround yourself with good people. And of course, I had a lot of fun! I had many opportunities in college that pushed me out of my comfort zone and that is something I will always value from my experience at USCA.”

What would you say is your greatest asset, aside from your stellar communication skills?

“The most important thing I bring to work is a good attitude. A good attitude matters, and it shapes how you work. Furthermore, I bring good work ethic. I work each day to the best of my ability. One thing I pride myself on is my ability to listen to others. I’ve found that people want to feel heard. They want to feel that their goals and aspirations are heard and can be achieved. They don’t want to be a number. I always strive to listen and take action when needed.”

How has your career grown since joining the team?

“My career has grown a lot since I started working at Barkley Reserve. The company focuses not just on job development, but personal development as well. I learned a lot about myself in my career and what I am capable of. The most challenging thing I have found in my career is rejection. It’s something that many people fear, and I think rejection hindered me in the beginning stages of my career. My mom always taught me growing up that ‘no means next.’ Once I started applying that motto to my everyday life, changes started happening in my work for the better.”

What do you love about recruiting, and about life for that matter?

“I am passionate about providing opportunity for others. I am excited to be a part of helping people achieve their career goals. I am also passionate about traveling and seeing the world. Immersing myself in different cultures and continuing to learn new things. I think continuing education is so important- reading new books, taking a new class, or learning a new workout.”

What is your favorite thing about the business?

“My favorite thing about this business is the endless opportunity and the great people I am surrounded by. There is so much opportunity to move up within the company. Hard work truly pays off in this business. Plus, the people here are dedicated to their success. I think being surrounded by people who have incredible work ethic enhances mine as well. They push me to be my best every day. The people in this business aren’t just my co-workers, I really enjoy working with them every day.”

What advice would you give to those who hope to emulate your success?

“Persevere and have a student mentality. You will face rejection at some point in life- keep going. Keep working to the best of your ability, and do not give up on what you want for life. Furthermore, be willing to learn new information and do not be afraid to ask questions. Lastly, make time for yourself outside of work and do what you enjoy!”

What important lesson did someone in your life teach you?

“Failure is a part of growth. My dad taught me that early on in life. I know it’s cliché, but it’s so true in my experience. I have gained so much from things I have not succeeded on. If I get a result that I did not anticipate, I always reflect on what I could have done better and what I will do going forward.”

As for success, the natural extrovert sees that as an ever evolving thing in life. Through financial freedom and completion of personal goals, anyone can find success. That said, the line should keep moving forward. Never get complacent. That’s something that Brooke Davis understands implicitly. She understands that half effort yields half the results and preaches that how you do anything is how you do everything. It’s easy to see why the Barkley Reserve team values this leader so much. We look forward to many more years working alongside her, and know that her future couldn’t be brighter.

Published by barkleyreserve

Barkley Reserve is a sales and marketing firm located in Greenville, SC. As experts in direct marketing and customer acquisition, our clients rely on us to create long-lasting relationships with their customers and increase their market share! "Keep Climbing Up"

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started